Most high, Glorious God, Enlighten the darkness of my heart and grant me, Lord, a correct faith, a certain hope, a perfect charity, sense and knowledge, so I may carry out your holy and true command.
St. Francis of Assisi

Pastor KretschmarPastor MetzPastor NeebPastor LobitzPastor Ross Pastor RaasePastor BramscherPastor HeynePastor TroegerPastor BuchhopPastor AbrahamsPastor SchultzPastor Guy Roberts

May God continue to bless the members and staff of Zion Lutheran Church and all who enter in as friends and visitors.

About > History

Historical Highlights

Circuit rider pastor, J. Krueger, makes the first missionary calls in the Becker County area.

On July 19th, a group of Lutherans met to organize the Zion congregation under the leadership of Pastor H. Kretzschmar. There was a communicant membership of 63.

The first church was under construction, when a severe windstorm demolished it. The church was later built on Bowling Ave., on the north side. (see photo of first church above).

Rev. C. Metz becomes the first resident pastor.

Pastor John Neeb becomes the pastor. The congregation numbered 147 communicants.

Pastor Augus Lobitz served the congregation for six years.

Pastor P.E. Ross ministered unto the flock for three years.

During the pastorate of Pastor Carl Raase, the congregation observed its 25th anniversary.

The congregation sold the first structure to the Evenagelical Free Church, and purchased the Norwegian Lutheran Church at 800 Lake Ave. The old church was later moved to Summit Ave.

Pastor Raase died suddenly of a heart attack. During the pastorate of the Rev. Carl Bramscher, membership had reached 158 communicants.

The Sunday School program started.1916 til 1952

The Rev. Paul Mueller served as vacancy pastor for nearly a year, during which time a number of calls were issued.

Pastor R.G. Heyne arrived the week before Christmas and delivered his first sermon on Christmas Day.

A small, informative church paper was started, entitled "Our Little Messenger".

The weekly church bulletin was first distributed.

The church basement was enlarged.

The congregation observed its Golden Jublilee. The first parsonage was sold and the house at 1109 Washington Avenue, was purchased and remodeled. This property was purchased for $2,500. It was believed at that time there would be ample space for a new church edifice.

Discussion of enlarging the church began. A few years later, the world war interrupted this program.

Pastor R. Heyne is elected the President of the Minnesota District of the Lutheran Church Missouri Synod. He accepted the call to Waconia, Minnesota in the fall of 1943.

Pastor R. G. Troeger was installed as pastor on January 6th. The new church property was purchased on Lake Avenue, in the 1100 block.

The church suffers severe damages from fire on November 1st. Because of the war, no new church could be constructed; the church was repaired and used fro the first time on Christmas Eve.

December 14th, at 7:30 am, the ground-breaking for the new church took place.

1951 75th Anniversary photo
On September 16th, the cornerstone was laid for the $120,000 church-home.

May 18th: Dedication of the church

On May 23rd, the construction of an Educational Building was approved by the voters and the ground-breaking took place on July 24th.

Present education addition constructed and dedicated.

Parsonage at 1416 Lori Avenue was purchased.

Pastor R. G. Troeger retired and Pastor M. J. Buchhop was called to serve as pastor. Pastor M.J. Buchhop was installed as Pastor. The Youth Board was organized and counselors began regular meetings.Education Building Dedication

Music and Worship Committee was organized.

Adult Education Board organized and regular meetings began.

Evangelism Board organized and first evangelists were trained in 1979.


Altar Guild organized. Elevator and library addition approved.

Pastor Brian K. Obermann installed as Associate Pastor and ministers the congregation until 1992.

Pastor M. J. Buchhop was killed in a motor-vehicle accident.

Pastor Dan Abrahams installed as Pastor.

Pastor David Hahn installed as Associate Pastor and ministers the congregation until 2004.

Rev. Dan Abrahams retires.

Pastor Gary Schultz installed as Pastor.

History of Current Building

Groundbreaking for the present building of Zion Lutheran Church was on December 14 1950. Building operations began the week of July 15, 1951. WZion building dedicationith favorable progress it became possible to hold a cornerstone laying on September 16, 1951.

The church was dedicated on Sunday, May 18, 1952, with Rev. R.G. Troeger officiating the ceremony. Guest speaker at the dedication ceremony was the Rev. Robert G. Heyne, who preceded Rev. Troeger as Pastor of Zion Lutheran Church. Speaking at services in the afternoon and evening were Dr. Arnold Grumm of Fargo, fourth Vice President of the LCMS and the Rev. H.H. Gamber of St. Paul, President of Minnesota District of LCMS.

Zion Lutheran's Senior Choir, directed by Elfreda Rennewanz, and the Junior Choir, directed by Mrs. R.G. Troeger, took part in services during the day. Soloist was Irving Haukedahl, while the organists included Sharlotte Koehler, Henry Winters and Betty Glawe.

Zion Lutheran showed rapid growth during its early years in the new church and members approved construction of an education building south of the church on May 23, 1960. Ground for the addition was broken July 24 of that year and the present education building was completed and dedicated in 196Zion interior2.

Voters discussed the possibility of installing art glass windows in 1964 and these were installed the next year, the first during Holy Week of 1965 and the last ones by November of that year. The windows in the nave outline the life of Christ, with the first group of three by the choir loft depicting the Nativity and the last group of three, located to the right of the pulpit, depicting Pentecost.